About Teams

Teams allow you to coordinate a group of people – a class, a small group of students, faculty members, and so on. Using teams, you can invite a large group of users to a discussion in one go, as well as manage their role easily. Teams can optionally be used with the Clone and Invite Wizard, automating the process to clone a discussion and invite separate groups to work on their own copy. (The Clone and Invite Wizard is disabled by default to prevent abuse – contact support quoting your username and institution to have it enabled.) You can view which teams you’re currently in by navigating to the Teams section of the My Kialo page.

How to Create a Team

To create a new Team:

  1. Open the My Kialo page and navigate to the Teams section.
  2. Click on the + New Team button.
  3. Enter a name for your new Team.
  4. Once finished, click Create.

Adjusting Team Settings

Note: You must be a Team Owner or Admin to edit the options outlined in this section.

To adjust the settings for a Team:

  1. Open the My Kialo page and navigate to the Teams section.
  2. Select the Team you wish to adjust the settings for.
  3. Click Settings.

The following options are available to edit:

Avatar Image: you may change the Team avatar, in the same way you would change your avatar.
Team Name: set a Team display name, separate to the Team handle.
Team Handle: edit the Team handle, which will appear as the Team URL link. Note this cannot contain spaces.
Description: optionally, enter a Team description here. You may find it useful to include organizational information here if you manage multiple Teams (such as multiple student groups).
URL: optionally, if your Team has a website, you can link it here.

If ‘Only team administrators can invite this team to discussions’ is checked, only Admins in the team will be able to invite the team to a discussion. It is recommended to enable this feature if your team contains students in order to restrict them from accidentally (or intentionally) inviting the Team to undesired discussions (if you have other educators in the Team who will be inviting the group to discussions, you should adjust their Team role to Admin).

The ‘Delete Team’ button will (unsurprisingly) delete the Team.

Finally, the ‘Team Portal Page’ section allows you to change the Cover Image which is displayed on the Team page.

Once you have finished adjusting the Team settings, click Save.

Managing Team Members

Note: You must be a Team Owner or Admin to edit the options outlined in this section.

To manage the members in a Team:

  1. Open the My Kialo page and navigate to the Teams section.
  2. Select the Team you wish to manage members in.
  3. Click the # Members link located to the right of the Team name.

Managing Team Member Roles

In teams, there are three permission levels: Owner, Admin, and Member. These roles within a team control what permissions members have in regard to the team itself. Owners and Admins in a team are able to manage team members (adding/removing members and adjusting team roles), as well as adjust Team Settings.

Note: To modify the background info in a discussion, you must have Admin permissions or higher.

To adjust a Team member’s role:

  1. On the Team Members page, navigate to the bottom section to find a list of all current team members.
  2. Find the user whose role you wish to adjust, click on the drop-down menu to the right of their username, and select the new intended role.

Adding Users to a Team

In the Team members page, you can add users to the Team either by generating a Team Invite Link, or directly inviting them.

Team Invite Link: all users who follow the link or QR code will join the team as a Member. To enable the link, click Enable in the Team Invite Link section, and the generated Team Invite link will appear. To open the generated QR code which opens the Team Invite Link, click the copy-url.svg QR code icon to the right of the Team Invite Link. To disable the link, click Disable. You can generate a new Team Invite Link (which will invalidate the previous link and QR code) by disabling and re-enabling it.

Note if a user has disabled email invites, they will not be able to successfully follow a Team Invite Link.

Invite to team: in this field you can enter any usernames or email addresses (if the user has email invites enabled) to directly invite to the Team. If inviting multiple users, you should separate their names or email addresses with a space. In the ‘Role’ menu, specify whether to invite the user as an Admin or Member. In the ‘Message’ section, you can optionally add a message to include with your invite. Once you are ready to send the invitation, click Invite.

Once invited, users receive a notification and immediately become members of the team.

Removing Users from a Team

In the Team members page, navigate to the bottom section to find a list of all current Team members. Find the user you wish to remove from the Team, click on the drop-down menu to the right of their username, and select Remove. Owners may not be removed from a Team.

Was this article helpful?

Back to top