About Instant Access Discussions

Instant Access Discussions allow anyone with the link to access the discussion with a specified role, without needing a Kialo Edu account. They are best used for one-off discussions to quickly get students participating, particularly if they are using Kialo Edu for the first time. If you want a link for users to easily participate with Kialo Edu accounts, see Discussion Access Links.

About Instant Access Discussions

  • Once enabled, sharing a link to an Instant Access Discussion allows anyone clicking it to view and/or participate in the discussion.
  • The participant role selected determines the permissions of all participants accessing the discussion through the link.
  • Participants are prompted to enter a username upon opening the discussion for the first time. They may change their username in the Discussion Settings later if required.
  • If a participant closes or leaves the discussion, they will lose permissions over their own contributions. For example, with the Writer role, they will no longer be able to edit their own contributions. Students should avoid leaving the discussion until they are certain they have no further changes to make.
  • You may change the role participants have at any time. For example, if students are working in a timed manner (such as during class), once finished you can adjust the role to Viewer. This will stop any further changes being made but will still allow anyone with the link to view the discussion.
  • If selecting a role higher than Viewer, be wary of students sharing the discussion link outside of the classroom, as anyone with the link will be able to contribute.

Enabling and Disabling Instant Access Discussions

Note: To enable Instant Access you must have Admin permissions or higher.

To enable an Instant Access Discussion:

  1. Click the (three horizontal bars) in the top-left of the window to open the Discussion Menu.
  2. Select Discussion Settings.
  3. Open the Sharing tab.
  4. Check the Instant Access (Don’t Require Kialo Accounts) option. The ‘Discussion Access Link‘ option is automatically activated and the URL to your discussion appears.
  5. Select your desired role for participants to join with in the drop-down menu located to the right of the URL. This can be changed at any time.

Your discussion now has Instant Access enabled. Share the URL (or QR code) with your students.

To disable an Instant Access Discussion:

  1. Click the (three horizontal bars) in the top-left of the window to open the Discussion Menu.
  2. Select Discussion Settings.
  3. Open the Sharing tab.
  4. Uncheck the Instant Access (Don’t Require Kialo Accounts) and/or Discussion Access Link options as required.

Tip: If you wish to revoke permissions for everyone without a specific role in the discussion, disable both the Instant Access and Discussion Access Link options.

Was this article helpful?

Back to top