About Anonymous Discussions

About Anonymous Discussions

  • Participants in an anonymous discussion are not able to view the usual usernames or avatars of other participants. Instead, all participants are assigned a randomized “color and animal” username & avatar combination, such as “Purple Butterfly”.
  • Participants in an anonymous discussion are informed of their newly assigned username upon entering the discussion for the first time.
  • Discussion admins are able to view the “real” usernames of all participants in the discussion (see here).
  • Students can work out the identity of another participant if they reveal any personally identifiable information (such as in a comment or in the discussion chat).
  • Once a discussion is anonymized, it cannot be reverted back to a standard discussion.

Tip: You may wish to remind students that as discussion Admins, teachers/educators are able to view the real usernames of all participants.

How to Anonymize a Discussion

Note: Only discussion Admins can anonymize a discussion.

Reminder: Standard Participation discussions can be converted to Anonymous Participation discussions, however this change cannot be reverted.

To anonymize a discussion:

  1. Click the (three horizontal lines) button in the top-left of the discussion.
  2. Open the Discussion Settings.
  3. Scroll down to the Anonymous Participation section and click Change Participation Type.
  4. Select Anonymous Participation, then click Save.

If you wish to view the “real” usernames of participants in an anonymous discussion, navigate back to the Anonymous Participation section and click List Deanonymized Users.

Was this article helpful?

Back to top